Texas A&M University

The Department of Philosophy at Texas A&M University offers both Ph.D. and M.A. degrees in Philosophy. The Ph.D. program requires that all students earn a Master’s degree in a complementary field outside philosophy. The department is pluralistic in orientation and comprises more than 20 faculty members and 25 graduate students. Professors Stephen Daniel, Claire Katz, and Theodore George all specialize in areas of continental philosophy, with particular interests that include Early Modern Philosophy, German Idealism and Romanticism, contemporary continental philosophy (including phenomenology, existentialism, philosophical hermeneutics, deconstruction, post-structuralism), and feminist theory. Professor Daniel Conway works in nineteenth- century European philosophy, especially Hegel, Marx, Kierkegaard, and Nietzsche, and political philosophy. Departmental strengths in continental philosophy are complemented by the teaching and research of a large number of the faculty, who work in the history of philosophy, social and political philosophy, and classical American philosophy. Students also benefit from the larger College and University environment. Faculty members trained in or sympathetic to continental philosophy work in the departments and programs of French, German, Political Science, Performance Studies, Film Studies, Women’s Studies, Geography, Communication, Comparative Literature, and English. Finally, graduate students at Texas A&M are free to pursue their studies in the context of a welcoming, supportive campus environment. The Department of Philosophy strongly encourages nominations of, and applications from, women and members of underrepresented minority groups.