New School of Social Research

The New School Philosophy Department was founded in the 1930’s and achieved prominence in the 1960’s and early 1970’s lead by its senior faculty (Hannah Arendt, Aron Gurwitsch, and Hans Jonas). It became a center of European scholarship focusing on the history of philosophy, particularly 19th and 20th century German Continental Philosophy. That tradition continues today, but has expanded to embrace the diversity that characterizes current philosophical inquiry. Faculty interests, including Critical Theory, Phenomenology, Ancient Greek Philosophy, Psychoanalysis, and the Philosophy of Science, reflect an environment interested in bridging traditions.