Fordham University

The Philosophy Department at Fordham University has a long and distinguished record of offering programs in philosophy for more than one hundred fifty years. The department is committed to the study of the history of philosophy, stressing its importance as the necessary context for contemporary philosophical debates. The department is genuinely pluralistic with internationally recognized scholars in both the analytic and continental traditions. Courses in medieval and continental philosophy are an especially strong part of our program. With respect to continental philosophy, the department regularly offers courses in Kant and German idealism, Hegel, Kierkegaard, Nietzsche, Husserl, Heidegger, Levinas, Derrida, Foucault, Habermas, existentialism, critical theory, and poststructuralism. Full-time faculty working in some area of continental philosophy include Babette Babich, Michael Baur, John Davenport, John Drummond, Jeffrey Flynn, Jennifer Gosetti-Ferencei, Ann Murphy, John van Buren, and Merold Westphal.