Irigaray Circle 2017

2017 Call for Papers- Sharing of Speech: work on or inspired by Luce Irigaray

8th Conference of the Luce Irigaray Circle
Institute for Theological Partnerships
University of Winchester, UK
June 23-25, 2017

Deadline for Submission of Abstracts: March 31st, 2017

Luce Irigaray’s work has inspired and influenced scholars in a broad range of disciplines such as philosophy, literature, art, religion, architecture, the natural sciences and law. This conference will examine the diversity of scholarship inspired and informed by the philosophy of Luce Irigaray. It will bring together academics and other delegates drawing on Luce Irigaray’s immense body of work and will offer a significant opportunity for sharing research and networking.
The conference will feature the following keynote speakers:
Ellen Mortensen, University of Bergen
Christine Battersby, University of Warwick
Yvette Russell, University of Bristol
Lucy Bolton, Queen Mary University
We welcome engagements with Irigaray in fields such as politics, philosophy, aesthetics, visual culture, linguistics, literature, media and cultural studies, psychoanalysis, religious studies, music, sound studies, architecture, education and legal studies.
In addition to the keynotes, the conference will include papers presented in 30 minute with 10 minutes for discussion. If you would like to participate, please send the following information to by 31st March 2017.
The title of your paper
An abstract (max 300 words)
5 keywords
A list of no more than six references
We welcome submissions from graduate students as well as faculty. If you would like to discuss your contribution before formally submitting your abstract, please contact Brenda Sharp at the University of Winchester at the email address listed above.
In addition, the Irigaray Circle will sponsor the 6th annual Karen Burke Memorial Prize, awarded to the best paper submitted by a graduate student or recent PhD (PhD awarded in 2011 or later.) The winner of the competition will give the Karen Burke Memorial Prize Lecture at a plenary session of the 2017 conference. Complete papers should be submitted to by March 31st, 2017.