Society for Phenomenology and Existential Philosophy

LGBTQ Advocacy Committee

Mission Statement

  • To promote the LGBTQ community of SPEP and its intellectual and innovative contributions to the program of the annual meeting.
  • To promote scholarly activities that integrate LGBTQ issues into studies in Continental Philosophy.
  • To communicate concerns of the LGBTQ community of SPEP to the Executive Board.
  • To defend the rights and interests of LGBTQ members both within the organization and, when applicable (as in cases of reported discrimination), in educational institutions.

Current Members

  • Das Janssen, Chicago State University (2016-2019), Chair (
  • Yannik Thiem, Villanova University (2016-2019)
  • Leigh Johnson, Christian Brothers University (2017-2020)

Previous Members

  • Jami Weinstein, Linköping University (2012-2017)
  • Ron Sundstrom, University of San Francisco (2014-2017)
  • Emanuela Bianchi, New York University (2013-2016)
  • Mary Bloodsworth-Lugo, Washington State University (2011-2014)
  • William Wilkerson, University of Alabama, Huntsville
  • Robert Vallier, Institut d’Études Politiques
  • Kyoo Lee, John Jay College CUNY