Society for Phenomenology and Existential Philosophy

Book Selection Advisory Committee

In order for a book to be considered for a special session, an email from the author to the Book Selection Advisory Committee Chair and to both Co-Directors requesting such consideration is required. Please also submit two copies of the book to the Book Selection Advisory Committee Chair. The deadline for the email and receipt of the books is February 1, 2016.

Current Committee Members

  • Jason M. Wirth, Seattle University, Chair (
  • Helen Fielding, University of Western Ontario (Phenomenology, Feminist Phenomenology, Feminist Philosophy, Aesthetics, Merleau-Ponty, Irigaray)
  • Samir Haddad, Fordham University (Twentieth Century French Philosophy, Poststructuralism, Social and Political Philosophy)
  • Eric Nelson, University of Massachusetts, Lowell (19th- and 20th-Century German Philosophy, Phenomenology, Hermeneutics, Marxism, Frankfurt School, Comparative and East Asian Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion)
  • Ladelle McWhorter, University of Richmond (Foucault, Agamben, Esposito, Environmental Philosophy, Feminist Political Philosophy)
  • Eduardo Mendieta, Penn State University (Frankfurt School Critical Theory, Latin American Philosophy, Philosophy of Race)
  • Elaine Miller, Miami University (19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Kant, German Idealism, Aesthetics, Feminist Theory)
  • Andrea Staiti, Boston College (Transcendental Phenomenology (esp. Husserl), Neokantianism, Philosophy of the Human Sciences, German Idealism (esp. Fichte), Phenomenology, Philosophy of Mind)
  • Annika Thiem, Villanova University (Critical Theory, Feminist and Queer Theory, Social and Political Philosophy, Modern German Jewish Thought)