Society for Phenomenology and Existential Philosophy

Advocacy Committee

Mission Statement

The Advocacy Committee is established as an advisory committee to the Executive Committee of SPEP. Its mission is to explore and suggest ways in which SPEP can become more active in furthering the interests of its members and in representing those interests to the wider philosophical community. The committee will attempt to assist SPEP members and the organization in attaining greater visibility and recognition in the profession. The committee is constituted to foster an open-minded community of inquiry and therefore rejects the framing of issues in divisive, “us versus them,” terms. Respecting all philosophical directions, and motivated by a spirit of pluralism, the Advocacy Committee shall help SPEP become a more effective forum for the voice of the SPEP membership.

Current Committee Members

  • Brad Elliot Stone, Loyola Marymount University (2015-2018), Chair
  • Adriel M. Trott, Wabash College (2016-2019)
  • Cynthia Paccacerqua, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (2017-2020)

Previous Members

  • Kathryn Gines, Penn State (2014-2017)
  • John Protevi, Louisiana State University (2013-2016)
  • Mary Beth Mader, University of Memphis (2012-2015)
  • Gail Weiss, George Washington University (2011-2014)
  • Peter Gratton, Memorial University in Newfoundland (2010-2013)
  • Robin James, DePaul University (2009-2012)
  • Robert Bernasconi (1999-2000)
  • Steven Crowell (1999-2001)
  • Merold Westphal (1999-2001)
  • Edward S. Casey (1999-2002)
  • Kelly Oliver (2001-2002)
  • Mitchell Aboulafia (2001-2003)
  • Walter Brogan (2001-2004)
  • Daniel O. Dahlstrom (2002-2005)
  • John Lysaker (2003-2006)
  • Noëlle McAfee (2005-2008)
  • Sharon Meagher, (2007-2009)
  • Bill Martin, Depaul University (2008-2010)
  • Ellen Feder, American University (2009-2011)